Organizing The Life Of A Writer

When I’m writing, I start out as something known as a “pantser”. That is, I sit down for a number of days and just write. It can be anything from scenes to character sketches to outlining notes. Considering that I typically am working on multiple projects, I’ve found that this can become quite confusing. Now that I am starting to add elements to my life that include family outings, dates, marketing, and a day job… let’s just say my paper trail is so confusing that I don’t think a mouse could chew it’s way through it and make sense of even a little bit of it. So, it is time for me to get organized.

944e903479c324fa_Self_Motivation.xxlargeI’m off today to pick up some much needed supplies to get my writing in order. I need folders and a file box of some sort since the file drawer on my desk isn’t in any sort of working order at the moment. (When I moved out of my ex-husband’s apartment my desk got torn apart and the drawer hasn’t worked right since.) So, that’s part of my agenda. Funny thing is that I hardly work at my desk these days. I’m usually at a kitchen table or sitting on my boyfriend’s bed working. But, that’s no reason to not be organized about it.

I’ve gone back to the old habit of carrying a back pack. It keeps my laptop with me at all times and allows me to have my binder and notebook handy as well. I don’t see this as a bad thing but, I also plan to switch to an attache or messenger bag instead. Backpacks are a little young. I’ve also had to go back to another habit I had when I was in school. That is; living by my personal planner. Scheduling is becoming a huge thing for me.

Of course, I make time for family and the boyfriend and kid. However, I noticed that keeping track of things with work and now trying to book marketing events and appointments is impossible to keep all in my head. Until I get a tablet device my little binder dayplanner is going to be my best friend. I do plan to bring it into the 21st century though and use Google Calendar as well. Trying to keep both updated with deadlines, appointments, and what’s happening will help.

I think that this last year has been a defining one for me. 2013 is certainly a year of big change. Adding this pen name, getting out of  bad relationship, starting a new and amazing one… it only stands to reason that my writing career is going to follow suit. I have such an awesome support system locally. I’m trying to branch out and pull together online community as well. Doing that is going to be the tricky part. I’ve never been that successful at it in the past but, I’ve never been able to focus on things being good like they are now.

Its Friday folks! I get to do a couple of awesome things that I’ve been looking forward to all week. First of all, I get to go and see my boyfriend and the kiddo that I’ve not seen all week. I promised a six year old that I would be there when she got home from school after talking to her last night and hearing her say how much she loved and missed me. I also promised the boyfriend that I would be there today as well. He just doesn’t realize that he’s going with me to get some supplies at WalMart yet. He’s about to find out.

Enjoy your weekend everyone. I know I will. I’m about to get it all together finally and that feels amazing.

About Anne Belle

I am an author and blogger living in East Texas. Living life, writing supernatural suspense fiction, and enjoying my family and friends.

Posted on May 10, 2013, in Lessons Learned, The Writer's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

