Writer Issues…

I am at the point in the process where I’m tired of looking at the manuscript I’m supposed to be working on. I just want to put this one to bed already and move on to the creation process. For some reason, the editing process does this to me. I procrastinate and I have to force myself to sit down and rework it on the umpteenth walk through. It isn’t that I dislike my story or that it isn’t engaging, it is. I’ve just read it all before; several times before. I’m ready to move on to another part of the overall story or something entirely new.

I have about a hundred ideas stashed away. There are snippets of the better ones in a binder that I work in for such things. Others are in file folders waiting for me to take them to the next phase. Some are just loose pages in a green bin beside my desk that I need to go through and find a filing cabinet to put them in. That’s something that I am lacking since the move that will need to be remedied or I’ll be keeping them in this tote tucked into a closet until I need them again. If I do that, they may end up forgotten but, that’s just a risk you have to take.

I was blessed with an active imagination from a young age. I have snippets of stories and character sketches stretching back to my days in high school when I really began to develop a love of more complex stories and characters. I’m sure somewhere in my grandparents’ basement there are boxes of old journals and notebooks that I’ve stashed away while I was in school. So, I don’t anticipate that I shall be at a loss for ideas for books anytime soon.

As much as I would like to just put the current manuscript aside and work on something else; I won’t. I need to finish it and get it out on the market. There are some perks to being your own boss. There are some drawbacks to it as well. An editor at a publishing house might push me to finish or face a penalty in a contract I signed. As my own publisher, I have to be willing to push myself just as hard, if not harder, to get things done and put the work out to the public. Sure, I can push a deadline here or there but, they never go away. For them to just disappear means that I am giving up on this crazy dream of writing stories for a living. That isn’t about to happen anytime soon.

Maybe it is just impatience on my part. I’m always wanting to plow into something new instead of finishing something that I already have in progress. I’m terrible with endings. It is one of my many weaknesses as a writer. This isn’t because I lack the skill to write an effective end to a story. It is because I get emotionally attached to my characters. I don’t want to see the worlds I created, the people in them, or even their stories to end. And I suppose that’s why I’m happy that so many people have contacted me to say how much they want a continuation of The Secret of the Storm. I actually am excited to oblige the requests and create a series out of Slauson Cove and Elora Castain.

The only real issue, aside from funding the expenses of producing a new book,  is trying to finish what I have on my plate before I start working on something new.

Sometimes I wonder if I am the only writer to face this particular problem. Then I realize that being alone in that aspect isn’t likely and I laugh about it and sit my butt back in my chair to put on the editor’s cap once more.

About Anne Belle

I am an author and blogger living in East Texas. Living life, supernatural suspense fiction, and enjoying my family and friends.

Posted on August 10, 2013, in My Process, The Writer's Life, Writing & Publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can definitely relate, Anne! I have been editing my upcoming ebook Hurricane Crimes, and I’ve read it soo many times that it doesn’t even seem like a real story anymore. lol

    And it’s funny that you said there’s probably boxes of notebooks stashed in your grandparent’s basement because I have boxes of notebooks from my high school days in my closet. 😛

    Good luck with your editing and writing!

    BTW I am from She Writes, and I liked your FB page. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment. I’ve been offline and unplugged for a bit (not exactly by choice) but, it gave me some time to reconnect with my project. I’m so close to being done I can taste the victory.
      Glad to see others reaching out. Hopefully I’ll be able to contribute more regularly now. 🙂

      • Sometimes unplugging, even if it’s not by choice, is the best thing we can do for ourselves, because it gives us a new perspective on things. Plus, it helps us not to procrastinate by going online all the time. lol

        I’ll be keeping an eye out for new posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

